american astronautical society

American Astronomical Society

Our today topic is american astronautical society.We will talk about american astronautical society.The American Astronomical Society (English American Astronomical Society , ASA) is a company comprised of astronomers in the United States whose headquarters are in Washington . The aim of the AAS is the promotion of astronomy and associated scientific branches, its 6,500 members therefore include astronomers but also geologists, physicists, mathematicians, etc.american astronautical society

The AAS was founded in 1899 by George Ellery Hale . The charter of the group is written by Hale, George Com-stock (in) , Edward Morley , Simon Newcomb and Edward Charles Pickering . These five men plus four others form the first executive council of the ISA, which then has 114 members. The name of the company was not decided until 1915 , previously it is called Astronomical and Astrophysical Society of America .

The American Astronautical Society

The AAS nowadays [When?] 6,500 members and is composed of five divisions, it distributes several awards, the best known are:

.The Henry Norris Russell Lectureship ,
.The Newton Lacy Pierce Award in Astronomy ,
.The Helen B. Warner Award for Astronomy ,
.The Beatrice M. Tinsley Award ,
.The George Van Biesbroeck Award ,
.The Joseph Weber Award for Astronomical Instrumentation (in) ,american astronautical society
.The Dannie Heineman Award for Astrophysics (jointly awarded with the American Institute of Physics ),
.The Harold Clayton Urey Award (awarded by the AAS Division of Planetology ),
.The astronomical prices Annie J. Cannon (awarded jointly with the American Association of University Women (in) ),
.The Gerard P. Kuiper Planetary Science Award , in memory of Gerard P. Kuiper .

The AAS also runs a small education allowance program and a travel allowance program that any astronomer working in the United States can benefit from. She also publishes a scientific journal, the Bulletin of the American Astronomical Society .

The field of astronomy being very diversified, five divisions are established in the years 1960 – 1970 , These divisions hold separate conferences:

.The Division of Planetary Science (DPS, 1968) deals with planetology and the exploration of the solar system .
.The Division of Dynamic Astronomy ( Division for Dynamical Astronomy , DDA, 1969) explores the dynamics of astronomical systems (orbits, evolution and history) from the solar system to the supercluster of galaxies on a cosmological scale .american astronautical society
.High energy astrophysics division ( High Energy Astrophysics Division , HEAD, 1969), particle physics , quantum , relativity and gravitation .
.The History Division of Astronomy ( Historical Astronomy Division , HAD, 1969), History of Astronomy and Research Using Historical Data to Solve Current Problems in Astronomy.
.The Sun physics division ( Solar Physics Division , SPD, 1980), research on the Sun and its interactions with the solar system and the Earth .


lymphocytes high

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *